Sepp Pratter

When you thought he couldn’t make any more faux-pas he went and outdid himself. Sepp Blatter: Idiot of the year 2011!

There isn’t too much to say that hasn’t already been said a thousand times about Mr.Blatter but I thought I’d add my two cents. So off I go on a little rant…

First and foremost I would like to express my surprise and disgust that racism seems to be rearing it’s ugly head in our premiere football league. I had by no means assumed that racism in top-flight football was a thing of the past, but, I did believe that the English Premier League was one of the league’s in world football where it was limited to an incredibly small minority. In truth, even if the likes of Luis Suarez and John Terry are proven guilty of racially abusing opponents then it is still probably a very small minority of players in the Premier League that are guilty of partaking in such foul behaviour. It is still apalling to think though that our incredibly diverse league which represents an enormous amount of different nationalities could have any problems when it comes to racial abuse.

For what it’s worth I don’t actually think that John Terry did racially abuse Anton Ferdinand in the infamous slow-mo clip on youtube, that isn’t to say though that he didn’t at all in another instance. I actually believe he was aiming a torrent of slightly more tolerable (but still repulsive) abuse at the referee or Ferdinand. In place of the key word “black” which he is accused of having said before the more obvious profanity, I believe he said “blind”, but honestly who knows apart from those who were within ear-shot of the event. Also, I have no idea whether Luis Suarez persistently racially abused Patrice Evra throughout the Liverpool Vs Manchester United game last month but I have no reason to disbelieve Evra’s accusations and the fact that he is claiming it was persistent would suggest to me that there is definitely at least some level of truth in his claims.

No matter whether these two players were guilty of the accusations being levelled at them, it is clear that Sepp Blatter’s public response to fears of a major re-emergence of the problem in the English game were wholly inappropriate. For a man of such “high” standing in the game to demonstrate such an incredible level of ignorance and frankly such a lack of class is outrageous. I think Mr.Blatter would be very wise to step down from his post or alternatively I think his minions at FIFA HQ should ask him to retire from his role as President.

It is however with great sadness that I think this isn’t the last we’ll see of Sepp as President. It really does seem as though the blundering fool is untouchable and that if he asked his fellow FIFA higher powers to jump off a cliff with him that they would race him all the way to Beachy Head. I will take this opportunity to state on record that I don’t think Sepp Blatter is a racist, that would be an incredibly naive thing to take from the nightmares of the last few days at FIFA HQ, but I do think he is completely and utterly irresponsible. To suggest that racism on the field is not a problem and that if it were common place that players would accept it and “shake hands” at the the end of a game is beyond words frankly. This latest bout of loose-tongue disorder from Mr.Blatter really does put the goal-line technology debate in perspective doesn’t it (I do however think that this is utterly ridiculous too). Hats off Mr.Blatter, you certainly do know how to cause a stir with  your unenviable lack of social awareness.

Leave a Reply

